Southville ward includes not only Southville but also Ashton Gate, parts of Ashton and a large part of Bedminster. It is bounded on the north by the New Cut, on the east by the Bristol to Exeter railway line and on the west by Greville Smythe Park and Ashton Meadows. The southern boundary is a bureaucratic line drawn along Duckmoor Road, Smythe Road, and then along North Street, Cannon Street and Sheene Road.

Councillors and Candidates